39TH ANNUAL MPTA TRANSIT AWARDS



2021 Duluth, Minnesota

2021 TRANSIT AWARDS

DISTINGUISHED CAREER: LuAnn Bleiler, Paul Bunyan Transit Helen Pieper, Timber Trails Transit

TRANSIT PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR: David Green, St. Cloud Metro Bus

TRANSIT SYSTEM OF THE YEAR: TRUE TRANSIT

MANAGEMENT INNOVATION: MAPLE GROVE TRANSIT

MINNESOTA BUS OPERATOR OF THE YEAR: Daniel Debraske, Prairie Five Rides Harry Mandik, Metro Transit

DISTINGUISHED CAREER

2020	Dave Jacobson Carla Montgomery	2005	Natalio Diaz Richard Graham
2019	Scott Thompson John Dillery Steve Mahowald	2004	Sandra Otto
2019		2003	Loren Ewert
2018	Tim Kirchoff Tony Knauer	2002	John Dillery
2017	Robin Selvig	2001	Judy Hutchinson
2016	Bonnie Buchanan Sarah Brodt Lenz	2000	John Sweeney
	BILL WILKIN	1999	Bette Undis
2015	BEVERLEY MILLER	1998	Roger Huss
2014	Bob Apitz	1997	HAZEL SITZ
2013	DAVID TRIPP Silas Sharp	1996	Barbara Latham Lussier
2012		1995	Michael Ehrlichman
2012	Dennis Jensen	1994	Randal Halvorson
2011	Mark Hoisser Robert "Bob" Gibbons	1993	Shirley Briffett Jim Heilig
2010	Kris Barrett	1992	, Judy Hollander
2009	Jacqueline Forner Sam L. Jacobs	1991	John Capell
2008	Donna Allan Mary Fosston	1990	John Morley
2007	Mary Fosston Bob Works	1989	Ray C. Olson Jack C. House
2006	Aaron Isaacs	1988	DOUG DIFFERT

This award is presented to individuals who, by length of service and cumulative contributions of innovation, leadership or advocacy, have significantly improved public transit in Minnesota. The recipient of this award will have spent part of his/her career working for or working with a transit system who is a member in good standing of the Minnesota Public Transit Association.

TRANSIT PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR

2020	Cathleen Amick Brian Funk	2000	David Jacobson Sandy Otto
2019	Voni Vegar	1999	Arthur Leahy
2018	Erlene Welshons	1998	Bob Ulland
2017	LuAnn Bleiler	1997	Jacqueline S Forner
2016	Tony Knauer	1996	Brian Lamb
2015	Gregory Negard John Harrington	1995	Bob Apitz Deb Fick
2014	Mark Fuhrmann	1994	Debra Schroeder
2013	Helen Pieper	1002	Linda Ness
2012	Lori Van Beek	1993	Aaron Issacs
	Jan Homan	1992	MICHAEL CHRISTENSON
2011	Tony Kellen	1991	Jeanette Aguirre Greg Failor
2010	Jim Heilig	1000	
2009	Mark Anderson	1990	Natalio Diaz
2007	Bernadette "Bernie" Struck	1989	MATTHEW C PETERSON
		1988	David Tripp John R Farrell
2006	Deborah Little		
2005	Larry Rolf	1987	JUDY BYMAN
2004	Leonard Simich		Joyce Lundstrom
2003	Mark Hoisser		
2002	Connie Donaldson		

2001 LINDA ELFSTRAND

This award is presented to individuals who have designed and implemented a specific program demonstrating innovative concepts or effective problem solving techniques of proven value. The recipient of this award will be employed by a transit system that is a member in good standing of the Minnesota Public Transit Association.

TRANSIT SYSTEM OF THE YEAR

2020 ROCHESTER PUBLIC TRANSIT

2019 MINNESOTA VALLEY TRANSIT AUTHORITY

- 2018 MAPLE GROVE TRANSIT
- 2017 WHITE EARTH PUBLIC TRANSIT
- 2016 SMART TRANSIT
- 2015 ST. CLOUD METRO BUS
- 2014 METRO MOBILITY
- 2013 AMCAT AUSTIN/ MOWER Area Transit
- 2012 HIAWATHALAND TRANSIT
- 2011 MINNESOTA VALLEY TRANSIT AUTHORITY
- **2010** University of Minnesota Transportation Services
- 2009 DULUTH TRANSIT AUTHORITY
- 2008 SOUTHWEST TRANSIT EDEN PRAIRIE
- 2007 PAUL BUNYAN TRANSIT
- **2006** PIPESTONE COUNTY TRANSIT
- 2005 ST. CLOUD METRO BUS
- 2004 KANDIYOHI AREA TRANSIT
- 2003 CITY OF ROCHESTER PUBLIC

2002 METRO MOBILITY, ST. PAUL

- **2001** RUM RIVER TRANSPORTATION COLLABORATIVE, INC.
- 2000 RAINBOW RIDER
- **1999** SOUTHWEST METRO TRANSIT COMMISSION
- **1998** DAWSON HEARTLAND EXPRESS
- **1997** Plymouth Metrolink
- **1996** RIVER RIDER HEARTLAND EXPRESS
- **1995** MAPLE GROVE TRANSIT
- **1994** ARROWHEAD TRANSIT
- 1993 ROCK COUNTY HEARTLAND EXPRESS
- **1992** MINNESOTA VALLEY TRANSIT AUTHORITY
- 1991 CHISAGO COUNTY HEARTLAND EXPRESS
- **1990** LE SUEUER HEARTLAND EXPRESS
- **1989** MOORHEAD AREA TRANSIT

This award is given to an organization that has demonstrated achievement in efficiency and effectiveness, including reports on ridership, cost, safety, maintenance proficiency, agency policy and administration and the organization's achievement of its goals and objectives. This award is given to systems that are in good standing with MPTA.

MANAGEMENT INNOVATION

- 2020 METRO TRANSIT— DOLLAR-A-RIDE PROGRAM
- **2019** Prairie Five Community Action Counsel, Inc. Mobile Community Center
- **2018** Route 440 Dakota County Technical College Minnesota Valley Transit Authority
- 2017 MOBILE APP METRO TRANSIT
- **2016** ANDY STONE BRAINERD-CROW WING PUBLIC TRANSIT
- 2015 STUDENT PASS METRO TRANSIT MOBILITY TRAINING CENTER — ST. CLOUD METRO BUS
- 2013 CEDAR BRT METRO RED LINE TRANSIT ASSET MANAGEMENT — SOUTHWEST TRANSIT
- 2011 METRO TRANSIT SOUTHWEST TRANSIT
- **2010** MINNESOTA VALLEY TRANSIT AUTHORITY UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA ITS INSTITUTE
- 2009 Smart Link Troy Beam and Alan Herrmann
- 2008 ADA/STS COMPLIMENTARY PARATRANSIT SERVICE SCOTT COUNTY TRANSIT
- 2007 DULUTH TRANSIT AUTHORITY
- 2004 DULUTH TRANSIT AUTHORITY
- 2003 JIM ANDERSON, MNDOT
- 2002 TRANSIT CONTROL CENTER METRO TRANSIT CORE PROJECT TEAM — METROPOLITAN COUNCIL

This award is presented to individuals or organizations that have implemented a project that is innovative to the field of transit or have established a creative new partnership or method of addressing concerns of transit users. Consideration is given to projects demonstrating measurable results such as increased ridership, lower costs, new markets served, etc. The recipient(s) of this award will be part of a collaboration or other effort with a transit system that is a member in good standing of the Minnesota Public Transit Association.

FRIEND OF TRANSIT

2019 CHARLIE SANOW

- 2014 TRAILBLAZER TRANSIT JOINT POWERS BOARD TRI-CAP TRANSIT CONNECTIONS BOARD
- 2012 SENATOR JOHN PEDERSON Senator Roger Reinert Willis E Branning
- 2010 Rep. Frank Hornstein
- 2009 REP. TERRY MORROW
- 2008 SENATOR SCOTT DIBBLE Rep. Kathy Tingelstad Commissioner Arne Engstrom
- 2007 Rep. Shelley Madore
- 2006 SENATOR KEITH LANGSETH
- 2005 REP. RON ERHARDT Senator Sharon Marko
- 2004 Commissioner Peter McLaughlin
- 2003 Senator Dean Johnson
- 2002 GOVERNOR JESSE VENTURA
- 2001 Senator Dean Johnson
- **1999** Senator Janet Johnson Rep. Dan McElroy
- 1998 MAYO CLINIC AND TRANSPORTATION STAFF

1997 Rep. Bernie Lieder

1996 Congressman Martin Olav Sabo

- **1995** Senator Carol Flynn
- 1994 Congressman James Oberstar Marina Vork
- **1993** Senator Keith Langseth
- 1992 DEAN MASSETT WILLIAM CRAWFORD
- 1991 RUTH FRANKLIN MORRIS BENSON
- **1990** Fred Corrigan
- **1989** John E Derus Rep. Henry Kalis
- **1988** NATALIE HAAS STEFFEN Senator Gary Decramer
- **1987** PHYLLIS W MCQUAID Rep. Bernie Lieder
- **1986** SENATOR KEITH LANGSETH REP. BOB GUNTHER
- **1985** Congressman James Oberstar Senator Steve Novak

This award is presented to individuals or organizations distinguishing themselves through exceptional service toward the development and improvement of public transit in Minnesota by policy or legislative initiatives and leadership.

MINNESOTA BUS OPERATOR OF THE YEAR

2020	Melanie	Benson
------	---------	--------

- **2019** THERESA COLLINS PETE MUGG
- 2018 BOB BRAEGLEMANN Clarence Skala
- 2017 GEORGE RETEZEN RENEE STAFFORD
- 2016 TOWANDA LOVING
- 2015 WILLIAM "BILL" BARRY

- 2014 JERRY GILLMAN JERRY OLSON
- 2013 TONY TAYLOR
- 2012 CHEROL DEE MCMANUS
- **2011** JENNIFER ANSARIPOUR
- **2010** DUANE DUFNER

NATIONAL FRIEND OF TRANSIT

- 2010 Congressman Tim Walz
- 2008 Congresswoman Betty McCollum
- 2006 American Public Transportation Association
- **1998** Congressman Rod Grams Congressman James Oberstar
- **1995** Ream Lazaro
- **1990** WILLIAM HENDERSON
- **1988** NATIONAL ASSN OF SPECIALIZED TRANSPORTATION ALTERNATIVES
- 1986 DAVID RAPHAEL RURAL AMERICA

FRIEND OF MPTA

2013 TONY KELLEN