37TH ANNUAL MPTA TRANSIT AWARDS



2019

St. Paul, Minnesota

2019 TRANSIT AWARDS

DISTINGUISHED CAREER

SCOTT THOMPSON, METRO TRANSIT
JOHN DILLERY, METRO TRANSIT
STEVE MAHOWALD, METRO TRANSIT

TRANSIT PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR

Voni Vegar, Arrowhead Transit

TRANSIT SYSTEM OF THE YEAR

MINNESOTA VALLEY TRANSIT AUTHORITY

MANAGEMENT INNOVATION

PRAIRIE FIVE COMMUNITY ACTION COUNCIL, INC. MOBILE COMMUNITY CENTER

FRIEND OF TRANSIT

CHARLIE SANOW, LYON COUNTY

MINNESOTA BUS OPERATOR OF THE YEAR

THERESA COLLINS, METRO TRANSIT PETE MUGG, ST. CLOUD METRO BUS

DISTINGUISHED CAREER

2018	Tim Kirchoff Tony Knauer	2002	John Dillery
2017		2001	Judy Hutchinson
20172016	ROBIN SELVIG BONNIE BUCHANAN	2000 1999	John Sweeney Bette Undis
	Sarah Brodt Lenz Bill Wilkin	1998	Roger Huss
2015	BEVERLEY MILLER	1997	HAZEL SITZ
2014	BOB APITZ	1996	Barbara Latham Lussier
2013	DAVID TRIPP Silas Sharp	1995	Michael Ehrlichman
2012	Dennis Jensen	1994	Randal Halvorson
2012	Mark Hoisser	1993	Shirley Briffett Jim Heilig
	ROBERT "BOB" GIBBONS	1992	Judy Hollander
2010	KRIS BARRETT	1991	John Capell
2009	Jacqueline Forner Sam L. Jacobs	1990	John Morley
2008	Donna Allan Mary Fosston	1989	Ray C. Olson Jack C. House
2007	BOB WORKS	1988	Doug Differt
2006	Aaron Isaacs	1987	Jim Lorenz
2005	Natalio Diaz Richard Graham	1986	Richard Braun
2004	Sandra Otto		
2003	Loren Ewert		

This award is presented to individuals who, by length of service and cumulative contributions of innovation, leadership or advocacy, have significantly improved public transit in Minnesota. The recipient of this award will have spent part of his/her career working for or working with a transit system who is a member in good standing of the Minnesota Public Transit Association.

TRANSIT PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR

2018	Erlene Welshons	1997	Jacqueline S Forner
2017	Luann Bleiler	1996	Brian Lamb
2016	Tony Knauer	1995	BOB APITZ Deb Fick
2015	Gregory Negard John Harrington	1994	Debra Schroeder Linda Ness
2014	Mark Fuhrmann	1993	Aaron Issacs
2013	Helen Pieper	1992	Michael Christenson
2012	Lori Van Beek Jan Homan	1991	JEANETTE AGUIRRE Greg Failor
2011	Tony Kellen	1990	NATALIO DIAZ
2010	Jim Heilig	1989	MATTHEW C PETERSON
2009	Mark Anderson		
2007	Bernadette "Bernie" Struck	1988	David Tripp John R Farrell
2006	Deborah Little	1987	Judy Byman Joyce Lundstrom
2005	LARRY ROLF		JOICE LUNDSTROM
2004	Leonard Simich		
2003	Mark Hoisser		
2002	Connie Donaldson		
2001	Linda Elfstrand		
2000	David Jacobson Sandy Otto		
1999 1998	Arthur Leahy Bob Ulland		

This award is presented to individuals who have designed and implemented a specific program demonstrating innovative concepts or effective problem solving techniques of proven value. The recipient of this award will be employed by a transit system that is a member in good standing of the Minnesota Public Transit Association.

TRANSIT SYSTEM OF THE YEAR

2018	Maple Grove Transit	2001	Rum River Transportation Collaborative, Inc.
2017	White Earth Public Transit	2000	RAINBOW RIDER
2016	SMART TRANSIT	1999	SouthWest Metro Transit Commission
2015	ST. CLOUD METRO BUS	1998	Dawson Heartland Express
2014	METRO MOBILITY	1997	Plymouth Metrolink
2013	AMCAT AUSTIN/ MOWER Area Transit	1996	RIVER RIDER HEARTLAND EXPRESS
2012	Hiawathaland Transit	1995	Maple Grove Transit
2011	Minnesota Valley Transit Authority	1994	Arrowhead Transit
2010	University of Minnesota Transportation Services	1993	ROCK COUNTY HEARTLAND EXPRESS
2009	Duluth Transit Authority	1992	Minnesota Valley Transit Authority
2008	SouthWest Transit Eden Prairie	1991	CHISAGO COUNTY HEARTLAND EXPRESS
2007	Paul Bunyan Transit	1990	Le Sueuer Heartland Express
2006	Pipestone County Transit	1989	Moorhead Area Transit
2005	ST. CLOUD METRO BUS		
2004	Kandiyohi Area Transit		
2003	City of Rochester Public Transit		
2002	Metro Mobility, St. Paul		

This award is given to an organization that has demonstrated achievement in efficiency and effectiveness, including reports on ridership, cost, safety, maintenance proficiency, agency policy and administration and the organization's achievement of its goals and objectives. This award is given to systems that are in good standing with MPTA.

MANAGEMENT INNOVATION

2018	Route 440 Dakota County Technical College — Minnesota Valley Transit Authority
2017	Mobile App — Metro Transit
2016	Andy Stone — Brainerd-Crow Wing Public Transit
2015	Student Pass — Metro Transit Mobility Training Center — St. Cloud Metro Bus
2013	Cedar BRT — Metro Red Line Transit Asset Management — SouthWest Transit
2011	Metro Transit SouthWest Transit
2010	Minnesota Valley Transit Authority University of Minnesota ITS Institute
2009	Smart Link — Troy Beam and Alan Herrmann
2008	ADA/STS COMPLIMENTARY PARATRANSIT SERVICE — SCOTT COUNTY TRANSIT
2007	Duluth Transit Authority
2004	Duluth Transit Authority
2003	Jim Anderson, MnDOT
2002	Transit Control Center — Metro Transit Core Project Team — Metropolitan Council
2000	Southwest Metro Transit Commission — Laidlaw Transit

This award is presented to individuals or organizations that have implemented a project that is innovative to the field of transit or have established a creative new partnership or method of addressing concerns of transit users. Consideration is given to projects demonstrating measurable results such as increased ridership, lower costs, new markets served, etc. The recipient(s) of this award will be part of a collaboration or other effort with a transit system that is a member in good standing of the Minnesota Public Transit Association.

FRIEND OF TRANSIT

2014	Trailblazer Transit Joint Powers Board	1995	Senator Carol Flynn
	TRI-CAP TRANSIT CONNECTIONS BOARD	1994	Congressman James Oberstar Marina Vork
2012	Senator John Pederson Senator Roger Reinert Willis E Branning	1993	Senator Keith Langseth
2010	Rep. Frank Hornstein	1992	Dean Massett William Crawford
2009	REP. TERRY MORROW	1991	Ruth Franklin Morris Benson
2008	SENATOR SCOTT DIBBLE Rep. Kathy Tingelstad Commissioner Arne	1990	Fred Corrigan
	ENGSTROM	1989	John E Derus Rep. Henry Kalis
2007	Rep. Shelley Madore	1988	Natalie Haas Steffen
2006	Senator Keith Langseth	1700	Senator Gary DeCramer
2005	Rep. Ron Erhardt Senator Sharon Marko	1987	Phyllis W McQuaid Rep. Bernie Lieder
2004	Commissioner Peter McLaughlin	1986	Senator Keith Langseth Rep. Bob Gunther
2003	Senator Dean Johnson	1985	,
2002	Governor Jesse Ventura		Oberstar Senator Steve Novak
2001	Senator Dean Johnson	1984	Bill Hopkins Helen Wilke
1999	Senator Janet Johnson Rep. Dan McElroy		TIELLIN VVIENE
1998	Mayo Clinic and Transportation Staff		
1997	Rep. Bernie Lieder		
1996	Congressman Martin Olav Sa	ABO	

This award is presented to individuals or organizations distinguishing themselves through exceptional service toward the development and improvement of public transit in Minnesota by policy or legislative initiatives and leadership.

MINNESOTA BUS OPERATOR OF THE YEAR

2010 2017 Duane Dufner GEORGE RETEZEN Renee Stafford 2016 TOWANDA LOVING WILLIAM "BILL" BARRY 2015 2014 Jerry Gillman JERRY OLSON 2013 TONY TAYLOR 2012 CHEROL DEE MCMANUS 2011 JENNIFER ANSARIPOUR

NATIONAL FRIEND OF TRANSIT

2010	Congressman Tim Walz
2008	Congresswoman Betty McCollum
2006	American Public Transportation Association
1998	Congressman Rod Grams Congressman James Oberstar
1995	Ream Lazaro
1990	William Henderson
1988	National Assn of Specialized Transportation Alternatives
1986	David Raphael Rural America

FRIEND OF MPTA

2013 TONY KELLEN