36th Annual MPTA Transit Awards



MINNESOTA AND WISCONSIN PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION CONFERENCE

2018 La Crosse, Wisconsin

2018 Transit Awards

Distinguished Career

Tim Kirchoff, Anoka County Transit
Tony Knauer, Rochester Public Transit

Transit Professional of the Year

Erlene Welshons, Rolling Hills Transit

Transit System of the Year

Maple Grove Transit

Management Innovation

Minnesota Valley Transit Authority
Route 440 Dakota County Technical College

Minnesota Bus Operator of the Year

Bob Braeglemann, Metro Bus

Clarence Skala, White Earth Public Transit

Distinguished Career

2017	Robin Selvig	2003	Loren Ewert
2016	Bonnie Buchanan Sarah Brodt Lenz	2002	John Dillery
	Bill Wilkin	2001	Judy Hutchinson
2015	Beverley Miller	2000	John Sweeney
2014	Bob Apitz	1999	Bette Undis
2013	David Tripp Silas Sharp	1998	Roger Huss
2012	Dennis Jensen	1997	Hazel Sitz
		1996	Barbara Latham Lussier
2011	Mark Hoisser Robert "Bob" Gibbons	1995	Michael Ehrlichman
2010	Kris Barrett	1994	Randal Halvorson
2009	Jacqueline Forner Sam L. Jacobs	1993	Shirley Briffett Jim Heilig
2008	Donna Allan Mary Fosston	1992	Judy Hollander
2007	Bob Works	1991	John Capell
	Aaron Isaacs	1990	John Morley
2006 2005	Natalio Diaz Richard Graham	1989	Ray C. Olson Jack C. House
2004	Sandra Otto	1988	Doug Differt

This award is presented to individuals who, by length of service and cumulative contributions of innovation, leadership or advocacy, have significantly improved public transit in Minnesota. The recipient of this award will have spent part of his/her career working for or working with a transit system who is a member in good standing of the Minnesota Public Transit Association.

Transit Professional of the Year

2017	LuAnn Bleiler	2000	David Jacobson
2016	Tony Knauer		Sandy Otto
2015	Gregory Negard	1999	Arthur Leahy
2017	John Harrington	1998	Bob Ulland
2014	Mark Fuhrmann	1997	Jacqueline S Forner
2013	Helen Pieper	1996	Brian Lamb
2012	Lori Van Beek Jan Homan	1995	Bob Apitz Deb Fick
2011	Tony Kellen	1994	Debra Schroeder
2010	Jim Heilig		Linda Ness
2009	Mark Anderson	1993	Aaron Issacs
2007	Bernadette "Bernie" Struck	1992	Michael Christenson
2006	Deborah Little	1991	Jeanette Aguirre Greg Failor
2005	Larry Rolf	1990	Natalio Diaz
2004	Leonard Simich	1989	Matthew C Peterson
2003	Mark Hoisser	1988	David Tripp
2002	Connie Donaldson		John R Farrell
2001	Linda Elfstrand	1987	Judy Byman Joyce Lundstrom

This award is presented to individuals who have designed and implemented a specific program demonstrating innovative concepts or effective problem solving techniques of proven value. The recipient of this award will be employed by a transit system that is a member in good standing of the Minnesota Public Transit Association.

Transit System of the Year

2017	White Earth Public Transit	2001	Rum River Transportation Collaborative, Inc.
2016	SMART Transit	2000	Rainbow Rider
2015 2014	St. Cloud Metro Bus Metro Mobility	1999	SouthWest Metro Transit Commission
2013	AMCAT Austin/ Mower Area Transit	1998	Dawson Heartland Express
2012	Hiawathaland Transit	1997	Plymouth Metrolink
2011	Minnesota Valley Transit Authority	1996	River Rider Heartland Express
2010	University of Minnesota	1995	Maple Grove Transit
2009	Transportation Services Duluth Transit Authority	1994 1993	Arrowhead Transit Rock County Heartland Express
2008	SouthWest Transit, Eden Prairie	1992	Minnesota Valley Transit Authority
2007	Paul Bunyan Transit	1991	Chisago County Heartland Express
2006	Pipestone County Transit	1990	Le Sueuer Heartland Express
2005	St. Cloud Metro Bus	1989	Moorhead Area Transit
2004	Kandiyohi Area Transit		
2003	City of Rochester Public Transit Matra Mahility St. Baul		
2002	Metro Mobility, St. Paul		

This award is given to an organization that has demonstrated achievement in efficiency and effectiveness, including reports on ridership, cost, safety, maintenance proficiency, agency policy and administration and the organization's achievement of its goals and objectives. This award is given to systems that are in good standing with MPTA.

Management Innovation

2017	Mobile App — Metro Transit
2016	Andy Stone — Brainerd-Crow Wing Public Transit
2015	Student Pass — Metro Transit Mobility Training Center — St. Cloud Metro Bus
2013	Cedar BRT — Metro Red Line Transit Asset Management — SouthWest Transit
2011	Metro Transit SouthWest Transit
2010	Minnesota Valley Transit Authority University of Minnesota ITS Institute
2009	Smart Link — Troy Beam and Alan Herrmann
2008	ADA/STS Complimentary Paratransit Service — Scott County Transit
2007	Duluth Transit Authority
2004	Duluth Transit Authority
2003	Jim Anderson, MnDOT
2002	Transit Control Center — Metro Transit Core Project Team — Metropolitan Council
2000	Southwest Metro Transit Commission — Laidlaw Transit

This award is presented to individuals or organizations that have implemented a project that is innovative to the field of transit or have established a creative new partnership or method of addressing concerns of transit users. Consideration is given to projects demonstrating measurable results such as increased ridership, lower costs, new markets served, etc. The recipient(s) of this award will be part of a collaboration or other effort with a transit system that is a member in good standing of the Minnesota Public Transit Association.

Friend of Transit

2014	Trailblazer Transit Joint Powers Board Tri-CAP Transit Connections Board	1997	Representative Bernie Lieder
		1996	Congressman Martin Olav Sabo
2012	Senator John Pederson Senator Roger Reinert Willis E Branning	1995	Senator Carol Flynn
2010	Representative Frank Hornstein	1994	Congressman James Oberstar Marina Vork
2009	Representative Terry Morrow	1993	Senator Keith Langseth
2008	Senator Scott Dibble Representative Kathy Tingelstad	1992	Dean Massett William Crawford
2007	Commissioner Arne Engstrom Representative Shelley Madore	1991	Ruth Franklin Morris Benson
2006	Senator Keith Langseth	1990	Fred Corrigan
2005	Representative Ron Erhardt Senator Sharon Marko	1989	John E Derus Representative Henry Kalis
2004	Commissioner Peter McLaughlin	1988	Natalie Haas Steffen Senator Gary DeCramer
2003	Senator Dean Johnson	1007	,
2002	Governor Jesse Ventura	1987	Phyllis W McQuaid Representative Bernie Lieder
2001	Senator Dean Johnson	1986	Senator Keith Langseth Representative Bob Gunther
1999	Senator Janet Johnson Representative Dan McElroy	1985	Congressman James Oberstar
1998	Mayo Clinic and Transportation Staff		

This award is presented to individuals or organizations distinguishing themselves through exceptional service toward the development and improvement of public transit in Minnesota by policy or legislative initiatives and leadership.

Minnesota Bus Operator of the Year

2017	George Retezen Renee Stafford
2016	Towanda Loving
2015	William "Bill" Barry
2014	Jerry Gillman Jerry Olson
2013	Tony Taylor
2012	Cherol Dee McManus

National Friend of Transit

2010	Congressman Tim Walz
2008	Congresswoman Betty McCollum
2006	American Public Transportation Association
1998	Congressman Rod Grams Congressman James Oberstar
1995	Ream Lazaro
1990	William Henderson
1988	National Association of Specialized Transportation Alternatives
1986	David Raphael

Friend of MPTA

2013 Tony Kellen